The Skyscraper Museum
2011 Making New York History Awards
The Skyscraper Museum

The Skyscraper Museum is devoted to the study of high-rise building, past, present, and future. The Museum explores tall buildings as objects of design, products of technology, sites of construction, investments in real estate, and places of work and residence. This site will look better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Notable New Yorkers 2011
Making New York History Award

On the 50th anniversary of its completion
Accepting the award for the owners and developers JPMorgan Chase & Co.,
FRANK J. BISIGNANO, Chief Administrative Officer for JPMorgan Chase
and the tower's architects

Wednesday, June 8, 2011
The Skyscraper Museum, 39 Battery Place
6:00 - 8:00 PM

More than 125 guests filled the gallery of The Skyscraper Museum for a spirited cocktail party that celebrated the downtown landmark 1 Chase Manhattan Plaza on the 50th anniversary of its completion. In 1961, 1 Chase Manhattan Plaza was a shining light in lower Manhattan: a signal commitment to the historic financial district, a bold statement of Modern design, and a new approach to urbanism with its sun-lit, art-filled plaza. Amid slide shows of photographs that documented the complex challenges of construction of 1CMP and stunning views of the modernist masterwork by architectural photographers, the assembled guests saluted the original owner and architects, JPMorgan Chase & Co. and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill with the Museum's 2011 Making New York History Award.

Accepting the award on behalf of JPMorgan Chase & Co. was Frank J. Bisignano, the bank's Chief Administrative Officer. Representing the architects were the Partners of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill: Museum trustee T.J. Gottesdiener, David Childs, Mustafa Abadan, Gary Haney, Ken Lewis, and Stephen Apking.

MNYH 2011

Highlighting 1CMP's historic role in securing the continued vitality of lower Manhattan at time of declining fortunes, Museum Director Carol Willis welcomed the guests & honorees and introduced the evening's speakers. New York State Senator Daniel Squadron of the 25th District began the honors by presenting a Senate Proclamation marking the 50th anniversary of One Chase Manhattan Plaza and recognizing the contributions of SOM and JPMorgan Chase.

The first of the night's salutes was offered by NYC Deputy Mayor for Operations Stephen Goldsmith, who praised JPMorgan's continued commitment to efficiency in design and community involvement. David Childs followed with a reflection on the trail-blazing work of Gordon Bunshaft, a former colleague and lead design partner of SOM for 1CMP. Nicholas Adams, Vassar professor and author of SOM: The Experiment since 1936 gave the final toast, putting in perspective the sheer scale of the architectural and construction project and praising the genius of the designers.

Also in attendance were LPC Commissioner, the Honorable Diana Chapin; President of the New York City Housing Development Corporation, Marc Jahr; and Executive Director of The Port Authority of New York & New Jersey, Christopher Ward.

1 Chase Manhattan Plaza is the ninth recipient of the award, which The Skyscraper Museum established in 1999 to honor outstanding individuals who have shaped the city's skyline in three dimensions or in public perceptions.

MNYH 2011

CONTRIBUTORS to The Skyscraper Museum
in honor of 1 Chase Manhattan Plaza

JP Morgan Chase & Co.
Newmark Knight Frank
John L. Tishman, Daniel R. Tishman
& Tishman Construction Corporation
Mark & Carol Willis

Ann L. Buttenwieser
Atlantic Exterior Wall Systems, LLC
CB Richard Ellis
Silverstein Properties, Inc.
Turner Construction Company
Van Deusen & Associates

Hilary Ballon
Brookfield Properties
Goldman Sachs
Brenda Levin
The Litwin Foundation
Monadnock Construction, Inc.
Permasteelisa North America Corporation
Plaza Construction
Syska Hennessy Group, Inc.
Structure Tone, Inc.
Unity Electric Co., Inc.

A. Estéban & Company
Cerami & Associates, Inc.
Cushman & Wakefield
Kaufman Realty Corporation
Leslie E. Robertson Associates
Marcus Attorneys
REMCO Maintenance & Restoration
Shmerykowsky Consulting Engineers
Louis H. Skidmore, Jr.
Paramount Group, Inc.
Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
WSP Cantor Seinuk

Past recipients have included Kenneth T. Jackson & Robert A.M. Stern, John L. Tishman and Daniel R. Tishman, Douglas Durst, Larry Silverstein, The Port Authority of NY and NJ with Anthony R. Coscia and Christopher O. Ward, The Battery Park City Authority, and The Empire State Building in honor of--in the tower's 79th year--the glorious restoration of its original Art Deco lobby and the beginning of a transformative "green" rejuvenation.

Click here to view past events.